Readings 
and Events
2018


February 20, 2018, 7:30pm

Munro's Books

1108 Government Street, Victoria
Launch and author reading for Deep River Night

Readings 
and Events
2017


September 29, 2017, 7:30pm

Victoria Festival of Authors

Metro Theatre, Victoria
A Life of Words: The Legacy of Lorna Crozier & Patrick Lane

April 8, 2017, 8pm
Our Canada with the Victoria Symphony
Celebrate Canada’s 150th birthday with a concert exploring our country’s rich literary community and connection to music.
Alix Goolden Hall 


April 6, 2017, 7pm

A Pavilion of Blossoms: Poets Respond to Spring

Art Gallery of Victoria


Readings 
and Events
2016


May 27, 2016: Honorary Doctorate from University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George

Patrick Lane will receive an honorary doctorate from UNBC.

January 28, 2016: Honorary Doctorate from Vancouver Island University, Nanaimo
Patrick Lane will receive an honorary doctorate from Vancouver Island University. 2:30pm


Readings
and Events
2015

October 13–18
Wordfest in Calgary

With Lorna Crozier and more than 70 other artists.

June 1, 2015: Honorary Doctorate from McGill University, Montreal
Patrick Lane and Lorna Crozier will both receive honorary doctorates from McGill.

May 1–3
Hubbards Writers Festival with Lorna Crozier

April 21
An Evening of Poetry with Lorna Crozier and Patrick Lane
St. Stephen's Church, 7921 St Stephens Rd, Saanichton

March 24–29
Versefest
A World of Poetry in Ottawa
(with Lorna Crozier)

February 13
Sidney Literary Festival
7:00 pm
The Red Brick Café, 2423 Beacon Ave., Sidney
(with Lorna Crozier)

 

 

 

 

Readings
and Events
2014

January 9–12
Honeymoon Bay Writing Retreat

April 25–27
BC Writers Federation Annual General Meeting
Victoria, BC
with Lorna Crozier

May 15–18
Skagit River Poetry Festival
La Conner, Washington
Winner of Ennis Award

July 17–20
Honeymoon Bay Retreat

November 2
Washita
launches at Open Space in Victoria

November 13–16
Honeymoon Bay Writing Retreat

November 22, 2014
Order of Canada
Investiture Ceremony

Ottawa. For a live webcast vist www.gg.ca at 10:30 EST


Listen!

to Patrick Lane read
“Wild Horses”

to an interview
with Patrick on
The Next Chapter

with Shelagh Rogers,
CBC Radio One, which
aired in January, 2012.

CONTINUE TO SITE

In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Russell Banks, and Annie Proulx, the much-anticipated new novel by the bestselling author of Red Dog, Red Dog is set over the course of 48 hours in a remote sawmill community where violence, complicity, and inaction run deep. (published by McClelland & Stewart)

World War Two vet Art Kenning is the alcoholic first-aid man in an isolated sawmill village in the interior of B.C., where he dreads the sound of the five whistles that summon him to the mill floor whenever a worker is hurt. Traumatized by an incident in Holland, when he stood by while members of his unit committed a horrific act, he loses himself in drink, and in memories of the love affair he had with a woman in wartime Paris. But the sad comfort of his self-imposed detachment is shattered when one of the most powerful men at the mill arrives at his door late one evening to ask for his help. What unfolds over the course of that night and following day will force Art to confront acts of evil, both in the present and the past, as well as the tragic consequences of his own inaction.
    Alternating with Art's story are the stories of Joel, a teenaged runaway who owes his life to Art, Wang Po, the mill's cook and a survivor of the Rape of Nanjing, Alice, a young Indigenous girl sold from a residential school, and, Cliff, a Metis man with a hidden past. These lives, and more, intertwine to reveal a complex, morally ambiguous community where the undercurrents of violence and complicity are never far from the surface.
     Writing with exquisite precision and emotional force, Patrick Lane gives us a novel whose darkness is fractured by moments of light. Deep River Night is a riveting story about the burden of bearing witness to a terrible crime.

“In a novel that journeys from wartime Europe and China to the remote interior of B.C., Patrick Lane offers us a wise, profound meditation on loss, longing, and the struggle for redemption. It is a work of art in which every sentence sings, revealing love and beauty hidden in unexpected lives and places. Deep River Night is a wonder.” —Guy Vanderhaeghe, author of Daddy Lenin and Other Stories

“The power of Patrick Lane’s prose springs from lived experience, shaped and tempered by the astonishing skill acquired through a lifetime in poetry. Lane has history with this world, these men—the kind of history that sticks in the mind’s eye—and he lays bare the inner workings of a broken mind, sheltering against the unbearable past and bombarded by it anyway. This a mourning book, elegiac, bloody, all fire and ashes, but taking great care for what gentleness may be left in the world.” —Marina Endicott, author of Close to Hugh

“Ablaze with a savage compassion, Deep River Night is a vast, sweeping novel of war, loss, violence, and forgiveness. This is Patrick Lane’s song of experience, written in a prose of shadow and light, exquisite as an ink painting, exploring the ways the past will not leave us alone. It is a gorgeous, furious achievement, a work of art of the highest order.” —Steven Price, author of By Gaslight